Common Justifications People Give for Theism

None of which persuade me

Tucker Lieberman
2 min readJul 5, 2022

--

Person standing on rocks overlooking ocean. The sun is in a glowing vortex.
Image by Stefan Keller from Pixabay

Years ago, I read 50 Reasons People Give for Believing in a God by Guy Harrison. The 50 reasons weren’t listed in any particular order, and I felt inspired to group them into a handful of arch-arguments. I came up with this grouping.

Ways People Justify Theism

Dozens of reasons given by theists, collected by Guy Harrison, organized by me into six general reasons.

My god is great!

Created the universe. Created people. Obviously exists. Never disproven. Felt during prayer. Inspires people. Makes them feel significant and part of something bigger than themselves. Answers prayers. Heals the sick. Changes lives. Sacrificed his son for me.

Religion is great!

It’s beautiful. It unites people. Faith is good, makes me happy, and doesn’t hurt me or anyone else. My religion makes more sense than any other.

Facts prove it!

The Earth is so beautiful and so perfectly equipped for life, it must have been created this way. My god has been proven by archaeology, a sacred book, miracles, ancient prophecies, divine justice, intelligent design, people who have crossed over into heaven and…

--

--

Tucker Lieberman

Editor for Prism & Pen. Author of the novel "Most Famous Short Film of All Time." https://tuckerlieberman.com/