Tucker Lieberman
1 min readMay 17, 2023

--

I fit this description. Furthermore I don't really miss Twitter. (I still have an account, but the site, from my point of view, has become unusable over the past six months.) I was an active Twitter user only over the last four or five years, and I really liked it while I was using it, but Twitter doesn't feel part of me the way that early internet ('90s–'00s) does—or at least my perception of early internet and my dreams for what I thought it would become. I always wanted Twitter to be more boring (i.e., less fighty) because the toxic fights interfered with the happy productive stuff I wanted, and still want, to see and do. Perhaps Mastodon it is, then, for me. But I can't say I'm volunteering to moderate an instance yet. I took a while to learn Twitter's interface and culture, and I still haven't figured out basic elements of the Mastodon interface. Every time I log in, I stumble over how to search for people and make a new post. I guess whatever community is "for me" is the one to which I'm actively contributing and helping to build culture. For me, right now, that's Medium. And perhaps soon it will also involve the me.dm Mastodon account I've linked to Medium.

--

--

Tucker Lieberman

Editor for Prism & Pen. Author of the novel "Most Famous Short Film of All Time." https://tuckerlieberman.com/